This article applies to: Firm Managers and Administrators
You can edit Engagement Details such as the Start and Due Dates, Accounting Period, and other details, by clicking on the Edit icon in the Engagements pane.
You can also edit Engagement Details by clicking -- View All Engagements -- and selecting the Edit icon.
Editing the engagement will allow you to change the following details:
- Title: A descriptive title for the engagement (e.g. AuditDashboard Dec 31, 2023, Year-end Audit)
Keep in mind that this is the main reference that will appear on the dashboard and in email notifications. Both professionals and clients should be able to read the title and understand enough unique details to differentiate it from other engagements.
- ID: Use this field to tag the engagement with a unique ID that corresponds to the client or engagement.
- Type: Classify the type of engagement. It may be as generic as “audit”, “review” or “tax” or as specific as the type of audit, review, or tax engagement (e.g. employee benefit plan audit, quarterly review, or 1040 return).
- Period: Specify a period of time for the engagement here (e.g., March 31, Q4, Dec 31).
- Year: A four-digit year
- Start Date: Typically, this is the expected start of fieldwork, i.e. the date by which you would expect to have received all documentation prepared by the client for review and likely have dedicated resources scheduled.
- Due Date: The date you expect to issue the final report, return, or final deliverable to the client.
- Engagement Owner: Select the owner of the engagement here. This does not allocate any assignments to that user.
Additionally, professional and client users can be added or removed to the engagement by clicking on the "Professionals” or “Clients” tabs. You can add users by typing an email address in the user search box and pressing the “Add User” button.
Once a user has been added to the engagement they will be visible in a list below the search box, and will have a drop down list where their role can be assigned.
You can remove any user from the engagement by pressing the trash can icon beside the user's name.
Once you have selected the users to include in the engagement click SAVE to save your changes or press CANCEL to close without saving.
New users added to the engagement will be notified of this addition via email if they have engagement notifications turned on.